A year @Razorpay as Frontend Engineer

How it feels to be a Razor😎

·

4 min read

A year @Razorpay as Frontend Engineer

4th Aug 2021(the day i joined).

Hi readers,
I had recently completed one year as FE at one of the most successful fintech startup in India i.e Razorpay.This journey started in Aug last year, when i had just completed my semester exams.The one thing that we generally wait for during our entire high school and college life is that first job.

A brief behind story :

I was ok ok student from TIER 3 college...interested in frontend , not an expert in DSA, completed graduation in july,2021, I did not take active participation in college placements as no big companies came to college, started preparing for off-campus jobs in late 3rd yr, created projects regarding full-stack frontend stuff ,did not have any good Internship exp. , not much open-source contribution, applied for 100s of companies , connected to many HRs of big Indian startups on Linkedin, asked them for referrals or openings ,selected in 8-10 for further process/interviews .They mostly were related to FE profile, selected in most of them, at last i got opportunity for Razorpay, after 4 rounds of interview.

Started with Welcome Kit

Razorpay is not only best in its work but also with its work culture. I was welcomed by a wonderful kit and followed by Bootcamp, carried out by Senior devs. It went well after that actual journey started, with some basic training about org, tech used, github and work culture. From Day-1 just after training ,i was into the projects , started to contribute to the code-base.

What i did in last one year

  • Connections with some good developers, tech experts

    As i mentioned above org is one of the best Indian growing startups, this can't be possible without the creative tech minds ,so as I have found , creates connection with them. Learns from them how to be behave ,culture, code-structure, debugging, using tools and many more. They help in Debugging, bringing me out of many blockers

  • Contribution to Org.

    I am a part of the Care team ,it doesn't mean i did not contribute to other parts. Here ,one key rule is transparency, I had contributed to different repos, created some wonderful features that are used by merchants ,internal agents , customers on a daily basis. Also was part of On-call process for 3times till now, this is something that one person from one unit(i am part of Payments Unit) will be handling bugs/issues for a week When such huge number of users uses the feature i created, inside there is a always a fear that those are working fine or not 😂😂

  • Technology that i work upon

    For a frontend Engineer 3(HTML,CSS,JS ) are must, Generally i work on ReactJS,Svelte. and lot of debugging.
    Get in touch with the Tools used in day to day life for debugging, developing. On a bi-weekly basis, I have planning meets, I decides my own task's timelines(as I are owner😃 of my projects/features).

    Develops --- >> Tests -- > Debug -- > Again Develops -- > Tests-- > Merge -- > Deploy-- > Next projects -- > Develops.....and so on. This cycle continues but in b/w this cycle i do learning, goodies, meetings, discussion, games(online). Senior devs, colleagues helps a lot in completing of phases of this cycle.

  • Participated in org wide Hackathons

    I had participated in 2 Org wide Hackathons. This gives inter-team meet-ups discussion developing.As i am working from Home, i missed the perks of onsite that was enjoyed in the office. Created some useful project in it.Although my team did not win any of Hackathon😩. That was good learning in terms of cross team development.

  • Took Work from Home benefits/perks.

Blockers in Road I was not aware of Agiles of Software development Field Stand-ups, PRD ,sync-ups,Figma etc.

Many times in this journey , i found it difficult to complete task or unable to solve the problem, at that time my team-mate/colleagues help me to bring out of blocker. Got bugs in features as well but soon debugged as well.Sometimes it

If you folks like the journey so far...i will be writing my journey out of Org as well. if you are interested in frontend learnings. If you want to learn Svelte3 in easy way.you can check my previous blogs here on Hashnode Follow me more update in my journey ,Thanks for reading